Sunday, October 17News That Matters

Covid-19 Travel in US: Restrictions State by State During Pandemic

Until April 5, the island of Kauai requires a 10-day quarantine for those arriving from another state regardless of the preflight testing. However, the period can be shortened with a “resort bubble” policy that allows travelers at certain hotels to move about the grounds, and then take a virus test on the third day. If the test is negative, the visitor is released from quarantine. After that, Kauai will rejoin the state’s program and allow those with a pretest to bypass quarantine.

In addition to the pre-travel test for trans-Pacific passengers, some counties mandate a second test. The county of Hawaii is randomly testing at least 25 percent of arriving passengers at the airport at no charge. Maui and Kauai counties are requesting another free voluntary test 72 hours after arrival.

For those people island hopping, there are also testing requirements in some areas for traveling from one county to another. People entering Hawaii county can either have a test 72 hours before arrival, or be tested after entering the county and quarantine until a negative result is received. Visitors to Maui County must have a test 72 hour before arrival, or quarantine for 10 days. The policy is similar for visitors to Kauai County, but they must have been on a neighboring island for at least 72 hours first. Again, travelers are asked to take another free test 72 hours after arriving. There is no test or quarantine required for Honolulu County.

There are no statewide restrictions in Idaho.

There are no statewide restrictions in Illinois. However, under an emergency travel order, Chicago has implemented a two-tier color-coded travel system. Domestic travelers who are more than two weeks out from being fully vaccinated are exempt, as are those who tested positive for te virus in the past 90 days, but are beyond their 10-day isolation period and asymptomatic.

Those from the “yellow” areas are asked to avoid nonessential travel, but may enter without restriction. They include: Arizona, Arkansas, California, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Those travelers from other areas fall under an “orange” advisory, meaning they are asked to avoid traveling into the city under all circumstances. Those who do visit must either quarantine for 10 days (or the duration of their time in Chicago, whichever is shorter) or have a negative result from a virus test taken in the 72 hours before their arrival. These higher-risk areas are: Alabama, Alaska, Colorado, Delaware, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Massachusetts, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont and Virginia and West Virginia.

People should travel with a copy of their vaccination certificate or if coming from an orange state, a copy of their coronavirus test result. The list is updated every other Tuesday, with the next update expected on April 6.